Meanwhile, a road trip to WW, while the 60 for 60 awaits.
I love going to the Wallas. It is spring, the Cayuse is flowing, and the inevitable battle arises: why do we spend so much on domestic wine when we could get twice the value and quality for as much or less dough from our favorite areas in Europe? I don't have an easy answer. Basically, I guess it's because we can. In another economic time, we would, but because I'm still employed and "we can", we schlep over and make a game of it. Trapped in the Cayuse flywheel...oh well, the wine holds its value and is fun to drink. Over priced? Compared to what....foreign? domestic? As good as the high end Napas and hold their value as well. Foreign? Apples and oranges my friend; can't compare in any format.
So we play and meet exceptionally nice people. Our love affair with the simple down to earth folks at Bunchgrass always a highlight. New friends this time, from Mannina, whose roots are Italian and makes....wines....under .....14%...and can be good with food! What a concept. Nice man with a great feel; will buy and drink more of his wines. It's not the etoh level debate; it's the "can you drink it with something besides bbq" issue for me and Mannina's wines will make the grade. Also spent a nice afternoon at Castillo Feliciana...very nice people and serviceable wines. Others? WTF is up with Rasa? Wines WAY over priced and not that good. What do you think: you can hang with the big dogs? Good luck with that. Mackey, probably a mercy buy of two bottles; same with Ash Hollow. These two were nice came with nice folks who were nice to us and that will generally get you a sale. Rulo? The white wine refuge came through again, with a really nice, affordable stainless chardonnay that washed down our free Burgerville chicken salad way too easy.
Home to chinese and, for grins, a 2007 Trio Riesling that's been lurking in the cellar and a fino sherry. The sherry just magnifico with the hot and sour soup and the riesling working well with the spiced up rice/vegetables (see? you can spell vegetables, people; veggies (ick) is NOT a word!!!
Okay, now back to the 60/60 tales.....gevry, sancerre, oh so much more.....